Three growth phases

Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail

The growth of the rice plant is divided into three phases:

  1. vegetative (germination to panicle initiation);

  2. reproductive (panicle initiation to flowering); and

  3. ripening (flowering to mature grain)

  • In the tropics, the reproductive phase is about 35 days and the ripening phase is about 30 days.

  • The differences in growth duration are determined by changes in the length of the vegetative phase.

  • For example, IR64 which matures in 110 days has a 45-day vegetative phase, whereas IR8 which matures in 130 days has a 65-day vegetative phase.