Growth stages of the rice plant








Recognize the different growth stages                                






The three main growth stages of the rice plant:


The growth of the rice plant is divided into three stages:


1. vegetative (germination to panicle initiation);

2. reproductive (panicle initiation to flowering); and

3. ripening (flowering to mature grain)


Roll your mouse over the colored boxes






In the tropics, the reproductive stage is about 35 days and the ripening stage is about 30 days. The differences in growth duration are determined by changes in the length of the vegetative stage.


The growth duration of IR64 and IR8


For example, IR64 which matures in 110 days has a 45-day vegetative stage, whereas IR8 which matures in 130 days has a 65-day vegetative stage.




The rice plant in 10 stages










Click here to view a more detailed slide show on the different growth stages of the rice plant.






Next lesson


Let's have a look at the environment in which rice is and can be grown.